Thursday, 29 August 2013

PORNIFIED




ISBN-13: 978-0-8050-7745-2
Writer: Pamela Paul
Title: Pornified
Subtitle: How Pornography Is Transforming Our Lives, Our Relationships, and Our Families
Edition: First Edition
Language: English
Place of Publication: New York
Publisher: Times Books / Henry Holt and Company
Year of Publication: 2005
Format: 160x242mm
Pages: xi+304
Illustrations: 4 duotone; author’s picture by Harry Zernike on back flap
Binding: Boards in duotone dust jacket designed by Lisa Fyfe
Weight: 595gr.
Original Price: USD25.00 / CAD33.95
Entry No.: 2010035
Entry Date: 10th December 2010

BOOK DESCRIPTION

From the bestseller lists to primetime TV to Internet hot spots, porn is everywhere- and it is transforming the way we live our lives.

Welcome to pornified America.
Pornography, once the taboo vice that no one dared mention, has become  part of our daily lives –affordable , accessible, anonymous, and, increasingly, acceptable. The all-pornography, all-the-time mentality is everywhere –on the covers  of mainstream men’s magazines; in the promotion of music, movie, and television celebrities; and in the advice columns of women’s magazines. The Internet is bursting with hardcore pornography, just a mouse-click away; cable and pay-per-view channel teem with porn; and “adult superstores” reel in customers off the interstate. The days of Playboy magazine wrapped in plain brown paper seem quaint.


Most striking, pornography has become a big part of the personal lives of many Americans. In Pornified, Pamela Paul argues that as porn has become more pervasive it has changed our marriages and families as well as our children’s understanding of sex and sexuality. She presents eye-opening portraits of Americans in the age of porn:

*Rob, who insists that his girlfriend look and behave, in bed and out, like a porn star

* Charlie, who spends hours cruising porn sites and setting up meetings with women and couples he befriends in sex chat rooms, while telling his wife that he’s just working late on the computer.

* Jonah, a fan of violent hardcore porn, who introduces tamer porn to his fiancée in an effort to revive their troubled sex life

* Abby, who discovers her husband’s hidden box of diskettes of child porn images downloaded from the Internet

* Preteen girls who start their own pornography Web sites

* Teenage boys, mimicking porn, who videotape themselves having sex with an apparently unconscious girl



Drawing on the results of more than a hundred interviews and an exclusive nationwide poll, Paul exposes how porn has infiltrated and unsettled our lives. We see the costs and consequences of pornography, as intimacy is replaced by fantasy, distrust, dissatisfaction, and emotional isolation. Pornified is an insightful, shocking, and indispensable investigation.


CONTENTS

(xi) Author’s Note
(1) Introduction: A Pornified World
(12) A Guy Thing: Why Men Look at Porn
(49)  How We Got Here: Life in the Porn Lane
(72) Me and My Porn: How Pornography Affects Men
(107) Porn Stars, Lovers, and Wives: How Women See Pornography
(138) You and Me and Pornography: How Porn Affects Relationshios
(172) Norn into Porn: Kids in a Pornified Culture
(211) Fantasy and Reality: Pornography Compulsion
(239) The Truth about Pornography
(260) Conclusion: The Censure-Not-Censor Solution
(277) Notes
(291) Acknowledgments
(293) Index


Friday, 23 August 2013

BURNING DESIRES





ISBN-10: 0-385-24412-6
Writers: Steve Chapple and David Talbot
Title: Burning Desires Sex in America
Subtitle: A Report from the Field
Introduction by the writers
Edition: First Edition
Language: English
Place of Publication: New York, London, Toronto, Sydney, Auckland
Publisher: Doubleday
Year of Publication: 1989
Format: 152x240mm
Pages:xvii+378
Illustrations: 3 colour and black and white on front and back flaps by Ruth Bernhard and Kathryn J. MacDonald
Jacket Photograph: Ruth Bernhard
Jacket Design: Carin Goldberg
Binding: Cloth spine and boards in colour dust jacket
Original Price: USD18.95 /CAD24.95
Weight: 722gr.
Entry No.: 2013024
Entry Date: 23rd August 2013



BOOK DESCRIPTION


BURNING DESIRES is a rip-roaring odyssey through the sexual wilds of contemporary America –an uncharted territory fraught with danger and excitement. The startling discovery: despite all the premature obituaries, and gloating requiems, sex is not dead. It is being reinvented.

Yes, Virginia, folks are still doing it.

The great showdown between the forces of sexual revolution and counterrevolution is one of the most compelling dramas of our times. BURNING DESIRES chronicles this battle in all its feverish splendor. It’s an eye-popping, coast-to-coast expedition that takes you from the Washington town houses of misbehaving politicians to San Francisco’s first safe-sex orgy; from the Manhattan editing rooms of the new feminist pornographers to a Las Vegas convention of AIDS-haunted swingers: from the Minneapolis clinic for anguished “sex addicts” to the gay discos of Key West.

The cast of characters includes Contra playboy Arturo Cruz, Jr.,a nd his ex-girlfriend Fawn Hall; rock ‘n’ roll purity crusader Tipper Gore and her archenemies the Beastie Boys; Surgeon General C. Everett Koop and the chastity czars of the Reagan Administration; feminist commentators from Shere Hite and Dr. Susan Forward to Erica Jong and Germaine Greer; and those symbols of untamed masculinity poet Robert Bly and writer  Hunter S. Thompson. There’s also a fascinating range of everyday Americans, from adolescents in the throes of sexual awakening to seasoned couples and new parents trying to find ways to “keep the home fires burning.”

BURNING DESIRES is the first major book since Thy Neighbor’s Wife to take a firsthand in-depth look at sexs in America. Not a dry,s statistical survey; not a chirpy manual of sex advice. This is witty, stylish, insightful journalism in the tradition of Gay Talese and Tom Wolfe. Combinng first-rate reporting with lively, graphic storytelling, BURNING DESIRES provides a comprehensive account of the state of desire in America today.


THE SEXUALLY RESPONSIVE WOMAN





Writers: Phyllis  and Eberhard Kronhausen
Title: The Sexually Responsive Woman
Prefae: Simone dd Beauvoir
Language: English
Place of Publication: New York
Publisher: Castle Books
Year of Publication: 1964
Format: 143x215mm
Pages:255  Appenidx, 239; Selected Bibliography, 245;
Binding: Hardback without  dust jacket ex Library of California School of Professional Psychology at Fresno
Original Price: N/A
Weight: 407gr.
Entry No.: 2013023
Entry Date: 23rd August 2013


CONTENTS

(7) Preface  by Simone de Beauvoir
(9) By Way of Explanation
(13) Truth and Fiction about Women
(22) Psychoanalysis and Woman’s Sex Response
(34) The Anatomy of Orgasm
(56) The Sociology of Orgasm
(64) Portrait of Four Women
(69) The Struggle for Orgasm
(86) Women and Pre-Marital Sex
(109) Women and Auto-Erotism
(120) Women and Extra-Marital Affairs
(137) The Ways of Love
(158) Women and Oral Sex
(173) Mental Aphrodisiacs
(199) Are Women “Touch Animals”?
(210) Lesbian Love
(229) The Future of Female Sexuality
(239) Appendix: The Female Sex Response
(245) Selected Bibliogtaphy

Wednesday, 21 August 2013

SEXUAL INTELLIGENCE: FALL TELESEMINAR SERIES

top
Marty Klein: Sexual Intelligence
 
  

FALL TELESEMINAR SERIES
Join Dr. Marty Klein as he explores key issues in every therapist's practice.
Each hour is packed with practical ideas you can use immediately--
backed by solid theory and years of experience.
Don't want to attend live?
Learn at your convenience with recordings of the seminars.


September 9, 2013
noon-1pm PST
and via recording
Every week we see patients with health problems. They may not discuss the sexual implications of their conditions; are we?

Common health conditions impacting sexuality include chronic pain, limited range of motion, sleep problems, diabetes, hormone imbalances, depression, cancer, migraines, post-surgical and...  more/register



October 7, 2013
noon-1pm PST
and via recording
Existential issues are internal conflicts arising from the ongoing, ines­capable confrontation with the givens of human existence--isolation, powerlessness, responsibility, death, and the desire for meaning.

Most people defend themselves from fully acknowledging such realities. These defenses range...  more/register



November 4, 2013
noon-1pm PST
and via recording
For almost three decades, the sex addiction movement has been addressing fundamental human issues: lust, desire, guilt, fantasy, decision-making, and the relationship of love and sex.

The answers generated by this model, however, have important limitations....  more/register

$49 each, includes:
            * 1-hour seminar
            * 30 powerpoint slides
            * A recording of the class--listen on your schedule!
            * CE certificate (AASECT, MFT, LCSW)

Save 20%!
Register for all three for just $119